Spring Nationals Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Tim McCreadie Claims First Ever Southern Nationals Bonus Series Victory at Boyd’s Speedway

(March 18, 2017) Tim McCreadie of Watertown, N.Y. inherited the lead of the Shamrock 40 at Boyd’s Speedway after Brandon Overton’s car broke on the 14th lap and went on to take the victory Saturday Night. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

McCreadie drove the Sweetners Plus-sponsored Longhorn Chassis to his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV win worth $4,000. McCreadie became the 25th different winner in 35 events with the series that just opened up the fourth season of competition.

Fast Qualifier Brandon Overton and Mike Marlar brought the field of 22 to life for the 40-lap main event with Overton going to any early lead. By lap nine, Marlar has closed the gap on Overton for the race lead and by the next circuit, Tim McCreadie had caught and passed Marlar for the second spot. Meanwhile, Dale McDowell had taken the fifth spot away from Billy Ogle Jr. After a lap 14 caution for Overton, McCreadie would take the lead of the main event. By lap 15, Dale McDowell had moved into the second spot. McCreadie continued to lead the main event as the laps ticked away and behind him was a great battle for the runner up spot between Marlar and McDowell. The duo had swapped the position several times before McDowell finally held the second spot on the 34th lap for the remainder the feature. McCreadie went on to win the feature event followed by McDowell, Marlar, Jason Hiett and Donald McIntosh.

Three cautions slowed the event. On lap 11, Forrest Gifford came to a stop in turn four. The second yellow came on lap 14 as leader Brandon Overton slowed on the back straight as he broke something and went pitside for the remainder of the event. The final caution came out on lap 17 as Billy Ogle Jr. slowed his mount in turn two.

The next Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series race will be on May 20th at Richmond (Ky.) Raceway paying $10,000-to-win during the Mike Roland Memorial.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “Shamrock 40” at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. on March 18, 2017:

1. Tim McCreadie-Watertown, N.Y.
2. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
3. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
4. Jason Hiett-Oxford, Ala.
5. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
6. Michael Page-Winston, Ga.
7. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
8. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
9. Riley Hickman-Cleveland, Tenn.
10. Jason Welshan-Maryville, Tenn.
11. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
12. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
13. Shane Tankersley-Morgonton, Ga.
14. Jimmy Brown-Harrison, Tenn.
15. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, Tenn.
16. Billy Ogle Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
17. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
18. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
19. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
20. Forrest Gifford-Flintville, Tenn.
21. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
22. Todd Morrow-East Ridge, Tenn.

Time of Race: 19 minutes, 28 seconds
Margin of Victory: 03.560 seconds
Yellow Flags: Three (laps 11, 14, 17)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Overton (1-14), McCreadie (15-40)
Entries: 25
Overall Fast Time: Brandon Overton-13.138 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Jamie Oliver
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Jimmy Brown
Provisional Starters: None

Heat-One Finish: Dale McDowell, Jason Hiett, Ricky Weiss, Michael Page, David Payne, Shane Tankersley, Jimmy Brown, Joey Standridge, Craig Greer, Todd Morrow.

Heat-Two Finish: Billy Ogle Jr., Riley Hickman, Shanon Buckingham, Jamie Oliver, Robby Moses, Forrest Gifford, Caleb Ashby, Jason Welshan, Jamie Perry.

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after March 18, 2017)
1. Tim McCreadie-200
2. Dale McDowell-196
3. Mike Marlar-194
4. Jason Hiett-192
5. Donald McIntosh-190
6. Michael Page-188
7. David Payne-186
8. Shanon Buckingham-184
9. Riley Hickman-182
10. Jason Welshan-180

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!