Spring Nationals Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Tyler Carpenter Captures Bonus Series/Iron-Man Series Mike Roland Memorial at Richmond Raceway

(May 20, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV and the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series would co-sanction the Mike Roland Memorial at Richmond Raceway on Saturday evening and Tyler Carpenter of Parkersburg, WV would lead all fifty laps on the way to a $10,000 victory. (Wells Racing Photography)

Carpenter’s victory would be his first career win with both series and would come in the seat of the Mike’s Tree Service/Octane Race Parts/Kryptonite Race Cars sponsored #28 Kryptonite Race Cars, Isner Race Engines powered entry.

Tyler Carpenter would take the lead at the drop of the green flag in the event after a side-by-side battle with Chase Junghans on the opening lap of the event. Brandon Sheppard would immediately challenge Junghans for the runner-up position. As Carpenter would motor away from the pack, Junghans and Sheppard would continue their dance for the second position, with Sheppard finally able to wrestle the position away from Junghans on lap seven. Sheppard and Junghans would close in on Carpenter when he began to work slower traffic on lap fifteen after Carpenter would make contact with a lapped car. Junghans would reclaim the second position from Sheppard on lap eighteen and set his sights on Carpenter. The first caution of the event waved on lap nineteen when Johnny Wheeler and Eddie Carrier, Jr. would tangle in turn one and Sheppard would pull to the work area with a flat tire during the caution. The lap nineteen restart would see a three-car tangle in turn one with Jackie Boggs, Adam Bowman, and Donald McIntosh involved, with only McIntosh remaining on the track.

Thirteenth starting Zack Dohm would have made his way into the top five at this point would make a daring pass of Justin Rattliff and Derek Fisher, going from fifth to third after a three-wide battle on lap 20 after the restart. At the halfway mark, Carpenter continued to hold the lead, with Junghans, Dohm, Rattliff, and Tommy Bailey giving chase. Carpenter would open his lead a bit until catching slower traffic on lap thirty-three, allowing the field to pull closer to him and Brandon Overton would work past Tommy Bailey for the fifth position on the same circuit. Dohm’s charge would continue as he would grab the second spot from Junghans on lap thirty-five and set his sights on Carpenter. As Carpenter caught traffic again on lap forty-four, Dohm would close right up to Carpenter’s rear bumper and challenge for the lead over the last five laps, but Carpenter would hold off Dohm to claim the victory, with Junghans finishing third, while Rattliff and Overton completed the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be Bailey, Fisher, Brandon Fouts, Chris Combs, and David Payne.

The Brucebilt Performance Iron-Man Modified Series would also be in action and Clayton Miller of Elkton, KY would lead all twenty-five laps of the $1,200 to win contest and score his first series victory aboard his Lexington Landscape/Markham Automotive sponsored #15 Bandit Race Car. Jimmy Lennox would finish in the runner-up position, while Jeff Watson would claim the final podium position with a third-place effort. Series points leader Brad Hall and Dennis Roberson would complete the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Jimmy Robinson, Vernon Soeder, John Jackson, Chris Johnson, and Austin Francis.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC on Monday May 29, paying $3,000 to win. The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series will be at Smoky Mountain Speedway in Maryville, TN on Saturday June 3, paying $5,000 to win with the Modified Series racing for $1,500 to win that night as well.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series/Schaeffer’s Oil Iron-Man Championship Series at Richmond Raceway in Richmond, KY on May 20, 2017

1. Tyler Carpenter-Parkersburg, WV
2. Zack Dohm-Cross Lanes, WV
3. Chase Junghans-Manhattan, KS
4. Justin Rattliff-Campbellsville, KY
5. Brandon Overton-Evans, GA
6. Tommy Bailey-Corbin, KY
7. Derek Fisher-Olympia, KY
8. Brandon Fouts-Kite, KY
9. Chris Combs-Isom, KY
10. David Payne-Murphy, NC
11. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
12. Jason Barrett-Waco, KY
13. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, NC
14. Caleb Ashby-Cunningham, TN
15. Eddie Carrier, Jr.-Salt Rock, WV
16. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, GA
17. Johnny Wheeler-Campbellsville, KY
18. Jason Jameson-Lawrenceburg, IN
19. Brandon Sheppard-New Berlin, IL
20. Jackie Boggs-Grayson, KY
21. Cody Mahoney-Hanover, IN
22. Adam Bowman-Seymour, IN
23. Carder Miller-Salem, VA
24. Connor Meade-Clay City, KY

Time of Race: 27 minutes, 59 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.308 seconds
Yellow Flags: Three (Lap 19, 19 restart, 20)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Carpenter (1-50)
Entries: 41
Overall Top Qualifier: Tyler Carpenter (Group A) 15.329 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Ricky Weiss
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Donald McIntosh (Bonus Series), Jamie Oliver (Bonus Series), Carder Miller (Iron-Man Series), Jason Barrett (Track)

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Tyler Carpenter, Johnny Wheeler, Tommy Bailey, Zack Dohm, Jason Jameson, Donald McIntosh, Jonathan Couch, Todd Coffman, Michael Chilton, Marvin Flack

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Derek Fisher, Justin Rattliff, Brandon Overton, Adam Bowman, Skylar Marlar, Caleb Ashby, Jamie Olivier, Levi Ashby, Dennis Barton, Derrick Meadors

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Chase Junghans, Cody Mahoney, Brandon Fouts, Chris Combs, Connor Meader, Jackie Boggs, Chad Stapleton, Austin Burns, Donnie Everman, Jake Henry

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Sheppard, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Ricky Weiss, David Payne, Jason Barrett, Shannon Thornsberry, Steve Stollings, Jimmy Smith, Carder Miller, Brian Mullins

Consolation Race #1 (10 laps/top 2 transfer)- Jason Jameson, Caleb Ashby, Todd Coffman, Michael Chilton, Donald McIntosh, Jamie Oliver, Skylar Marlar, Levi Ashby, Dennis Barton, Derrick Meadors, Marvin Flack, Jonathan Couch

Consolation Race #2 (10 laps/top 2 transfer)- Connor Meade, Jackie Boggs, Jason Barrett, Chad Stapleton, Austin Burns, Steve Stollings, Shannon Thornsberry, Jimmy Smith, Donnie Everman, Brian Mullins, Carder Miller (DNS-Jake Henry)

Current Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after May 20)
1. David Payne-366
2. Donald McIntosh-358
3. Brandon Overton-354
4. Jamie Oliver-352
5. Caleb Ashby-342
6. Ricky Weiss-336
7. Tim McCreadie-200
7. Tyler Carpenter-200
9. Dale McDowell-196
9. Zack Dohm-196

* All Photos Below Courtesy of Wells Racing Photography


* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!