Spring Nationals Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Donald McIntosh Grabs SNBS Memorial Championship Race at Tri-County Race Track

(June 2, 2017) Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, Ga. became the third different Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV winner this season as he captured the $3,000 payday in the Seventh Annual Memorial Day Championship race on Friday Night at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, N.C. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

McIntosh drove the Blount Motorsports-owned, Blount Excavating, Ole Ben Franklin Motors and Tennessee RV-sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis to the payday, his first-ever at Tri-County Race Track, his second personal this season and third-career Bonus Series victory.

Polesitter and fast qualifier Shawn Chastain along with McIntosh brought the 16-car field to life for the 40-lapper with McIntosh jumping to the early lead on the outside line. A six car pileup in turn one brought of the first yellow flag before a lap was complete.

One the field came back down to the green and laps were starting to click off, a caution at lap five would again slow the field as Glenn Barnett would spin in turn one. Before the caution came out, a battle for the third spot was brewing between Johnny Chastain and Kurt English. By lap 13, leader Donald McIntosh would see lapped cars in front of him and would have to maneuver as the field stayed green. As the leaders worked through lapped traffic, Kurt English would battle David Payne for the runner-up slot and grab it from him on the 20th circuit. On lap 23, caution would again come out for the field as Michael Barnett slowed on the frontchute with a right-rear flat tire. By lap 32, Payne had caught English for the second spot and as the field was working lap 33, Payne would slip past English for the bridesmaid spot. The final yellow came on lap 34 as Kurt English, who was running third at the time, would spin his entry in turn three. McIntosh led the remaining distance going flag-to-flag for the payday.

McIntosh crossed the line ahead of David Payne at the finish line. Third was Johnny Chastain, fourth went to George Mashburn and fifth was Clayton Turner.

The next Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Series events will be Friday June 23rd at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. for a 40-lap $4,000-to-win event followed by a 50-lap $10,000-to-win event at Florence Speedway in Union, Ky. on Saturday June 24th.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at www.SouthernNationalsSeries.com .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “Memorial Day Championship” at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, N.C. on June 2, 2017:

1. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
2. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
3. Johnny Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
4. George Mashburn-Murphy, N.C.
5. Clayton Turner-Toccoa, Ga.
6. Kurt English-Murphy, N.C.
7. Trevor Parker-Hayesville, N.C.
8. Michael Barnett-Hayesville, N.C.
9. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
10. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
11. Doug Smith-Harriman, Tenn.
12. Andy Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
13. Glenn Barnett-Murphy, N.C.
14. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
15. Shawn Chastain-Murphy, N.C.
16. Casey Turman-LaFayette, Ga.

Time of Race: 25 minutes, 46 seconds
Margin of Victory: 01.624 seconds
Yellow Flags: Four (laps 0, 5, 23, 34)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: McIntosh (1-40)
Entries: 16
Overall Fast Time: Shawn Chastain-12.903 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Doug Smith
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): Clayton Turner
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Trevor Parker
Provisional Starters: None

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after June 2nd)
1. David Payne-562
2. Donald McIntosh-558
3. Jamie Oliver-524
4. Brandon Overton-354
5. Joey Standridge-346
6. Caleb Ashby-342
7. Ricky Weiss-336
8. Tim McCreadie-200
8. Tyler Carpenter-200
10. Dale McDowell-196
10. Zack Dohm-196

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services


* All Photos Below Courtesy of Thomas Hendrickson



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!