Follow Us on Twitter! Spring Nationals Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Vic Hill Emerges Victorious in 2017 Southern Nationals Lid Lifter at Wythe Raceway!

(July 15, 2017) Vic Hill, of Mosheim, Tennessee, recorded his sixth career Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series victory tonight at the picturesque Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, Virginia! Vic, who started tenth on the grid in the 53-lap Southern Nationals lid lifter, grabbed the point on the 23rd circuit and despite brake issues held off Brandon Overton, Steve Casebolt, Shanon Buckingham, and Johnny Pursley to bag the $10,000 top prize. Vic also earned Fast Time honors of the stellar 28 car field during qualifying at the 1/2-mile speedplant, while Ross Bailes, Dale McDowell, Brandon Overton, and Chris Ferguson all picked up heat race triumphs. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Round two of the 2017 edition of the Schaeffer's Oil Southern Nationals Series tour will take place on Monday, July 17 at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, North Carolina.

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at Wythe Raceway in Rural Retreat, VA on July 15, 2017

1. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Steve Casebolt-Richmond, Ind.
4. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
5. Johnny Pursley-Clover, S.C.
6. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
7. Donald Bradsher-Burlington, N.C.
8. Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, Ga.
9. Ross Bailes-Clover, S.C.
10. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
11. Ivedent Lloyd-Ocala, Fla.
12. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
13. Ben Nicastri-Sydney, Australia
14. Farrel Skelton-Mount Pleasant, Tenn.
15. Ben Watkins-Lancaster, S.C.
16. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
17. Brandon Umberger-Rural Retreat, Va.
18. Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, S.C.
19. Chris Ferguson-Mount Holly, N.C.
20. Billy Hicks-Mount Airy, N.C.
21. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
22. Stacy Boles-Clinton, Tenn.
23. Billy Ogle, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
24. Mason Massey-Douglasville, Ga.
25. Travis Greer-Marion, Va.
26. Chris Combs-Isom, Ky.
27. Jason Walker-Culleoka, Tenn.
Did Not Start- Jason Johnson-Woodlawn, Va.

Time of Race: 54 minutes, 12 seconds
Margin of Victory: 2.802 seconds
Yellow Flags: 7 (lap 12, 19, 19 restart, 21, 22, 28, 32)
Red Flags: 1 (lap 19 restart)
Lap Leaders: Ross Bailes (1-8; 21-22), Chris Ferguson (9-20), Vic Hill (23-53)
Entries: 28
Overall Top Qualifier: Vic Hill (Group B) 16.393 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Ivedent Lloyd
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: None

Heat One Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- Ross Bailes, Craig Vosbergen, Chris Combs, Steve Casebolt, Donald McIntosh, Stacy Boles, Ben Nicastri

Heat Two Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- Dale McDowell, Donald Bradsher, Robby Moses, Dennis Franklin, Ben Watkins, Travis Greer, Jonathan Davenport

Heat Three Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- Brandon Overton, Ivedent Lloyd, Vic Hill, Billy Ogle, Jr., Kenny Collins, Mason Massey, Farrel Skelton

Heat Four Finish (8 laps/all transfer)- Chris Ferguson, Shanon Buckingham, Billy Hicks, Johnny Pursley, Brandon Umberger, Jason Walker (DNS-Jason Johnson)

Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuel/Tennessee RV Current Top Ten Points (after July 15, 2017):
1. Vic Hill-200
2. Brandon Overton-196
3. Steve Casebolt-194
4. Shanon Buckingham-192
5. Johnny Pursley-190
6. Donald McIntosh-188
7. Donald Bradsher-186
8. Jonathan Davenport-184
9. Ross Bailes-182
10. Kenny Collins-180

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!