Follow Us on Twitter! Spring Nationals Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Donald McIntosh Dandy in Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Victory at 411 Motor Speedway

(July 18, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV would present its third event of the 2017 points chase on Tuesday evening at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN and Donald McIntosh would turn in a dandy performance as he would lead all thirty-five circuits of the event and score a $3,500 payday. (MRM Racing Photo)

The victory by McIntosh would make him the third different winner with the series in three events and would come aboard the Blount Motorsports owned Massey Electric/Ole Ben Franklin Store/Stowers CAT/Blount Excavating/Cherokee Millwright/Arnold’s Trucking/DR Investments sponsored #7m Rocket Chassis, Vic Hill Race Engines powered mount.

Donald McIntosh would take the lead at the start of the thirty-five-lap main event, but a four-car tangle ensued as the field was set to complete the opening lap that involved defending race winner David Crabtree, Vic Hill, Steve Casebolt, and Riley Hickman, with all but Crabtree able to continue. The restart would see McIntosh again jump to the lead, with David Doherty, Chicky Barton, Vic Hill, and Jason Cardwell giving chase. Hill would get by Barton on lap five as McIntosh would start the process of working slower traffic on lap eight. Meanwhile, 12th place starting Jake Knowles would race his way into the top five and would grab the fourth position on lap nine. The only other caution of the event would wave on lap ten as Chicky Barton spun in turn four and Craig Vosbergen would also be involved.

This restart would again see McIntosh motor away from the field, while Doherty and Hill would settle into a battle for the runner-up position. McIntosh would begin working slower traffic again on lap fourteen and would continue to pull away from the field. While Hill continued to pressure Doherty for second, McIntosh would stretch his lead to almost a full-straightaway advantage, while Knowles would begin to reel in the second and third place machines before Hill would finally snatch second position away from Doherty on lap twenty-five. Meanwhile, McIntosh would have his mount set on cruise-control out front, Knowles began to pressure Doherty for third. As McIntosh would take the white flag to begin the final lap, Knowles would dive under Doherty in turn one and grab the third position. McIntosh would see the checkered flag first, with Hill take second, and Knowles finishing third. Doherty and Cardwell would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Brandon Overton, Riley Hickman, Shanon Buckingham, Steve Casebolt (who pitted for a flat right-rear tire after the opening lap incident and returned to start at the rear of the field)), and Kenny Collins.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Thursday July 20 at Senoia Raceway in Senioa, GA, paying $3,500 to win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at 411 Motor Speedway in Seymour, TN on July 18, 2017
1. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
2. Vic Hil-Mosheim, Tenn.
3. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
4. David Doherty-Sidney, Australia
5. Jason Cardwell-Knoxville, Tenn.
6. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
7. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.
8. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
9. Steve Casebolt-Richmond, Ind.
10. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
11. Will Roland-Jasper, Ga.
12. Ryan King-Seymour, Tenn.
13. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
14. Billy Ogle, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
15. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
16. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
17. Farrel Skelton-Mount Pleasant, Tenn.
18. Jason Walker-Culleoka, Tenn.
19. Chicky Barton-Middlesboro, Ky.
20. Jordan Rodabaugh-Soddy Daisy, Tenn.
21. David Crabtree-Maryville, Tenn.
22. Austin Neely-New Tazewell, Tenn.

Time of Race: 21 minutes, 30 seconds
Margin of Victory: 3.667 seconds
Yellow Flags: 2 (lap 1, 10)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Donald McIntosh (1-30)
Entries: 29
Overall Top Qualifier: Donald McIntosh (Group A) 13.647 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Will Roland
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): Ryan King
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Jason Cardwell
Provisional Starters: Farrel Skelton, Jason Walker

Heat One Finish (8 laps/top 4 transfer)- Riley Hickman, Brandon Overton, Craig Vosbergen, Jordan Rodebaugh, Craig Greer, Phil Helton

Heat Two Finish (8 laps/top 4 transfer)- Shanon Buckingham, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Billy Ogle, Jr., Austin Neely, Farrel Skelton, James Walker

Heat Three Finish (8 laps/top 4 transfer)- Steve Casebolt, Jason Cardwell, Will Roland, Kenny Collins, Cory Hedgecock, Tim Damron

Heat Four Finish (8 laps/top 4 transfer)- Chicky Barton, Jake Knowles, Ryan King, Jeff Neubert, Ruben Mayfield (DNS-Jaden Frame)

Current Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series Points (after 411 Motor Speedway)
1. Brandon Overton-584
2. Donald McIntosh-572
3. Shanon Buckingham-570
4. Steve Casebolt-566
5. Kenny Collins-546
6. Craig Vosbergen-542
7. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-528
8. Farrel Skelton-512
9. Jason Walker-482
10. Robby Moses-415

* All Photos Below Courtesy of MRM Racing Photos


* All Photos Below Courtesy of Chad Wells Photography



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!