Follow Us on Twitter! Spring Nationals Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Donald McIntosh Wins Second Straight Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Event at Senoia Raceway

(July 20, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV made its fourth tour stop of 2017 at the “Gray Gumbo” of Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA and Donald McIntosh of Dawsonville, GA would become the first repeat winner with the tour in 2017 and scored his second-straight series victory and picked up another $3,500 top prize payout. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Donald McIntosh would take the lead at the drop of the green flag on the event and by lap two would hold the advantage over Riley Hickman, Brandon Overton, Shane Clanton, and Shanon Buckingham. Hickman and Overton would immediately begin to battle for the second position as the pair would race several laps side-by-side for the position. As race leader McIntosh began working traffic on lap nine, Overton turned up the wick on Hickman in the battle for second and the pair would trade slidejob passes on lap ten before Hickman would reclaim the spot. McIntosh would open almost a full straightaway lead over the second-place battle before Overton finally disposed of Hickman for the runner-up slot on lap sixteen.

As the field saw the halfway signal on lap eighteen, Overton would set his sights on McIntosh as the leader would start working heavy lapped traffic on lap twenty. McIntosh would clear the slower traffic on lap twenty-four and would be able to pull away again a bit from Overton as the field would see the five to go signal. However, the pace would be slowed to set up a five-lap shootout as Farrel Skelton would draw the only caution of the event with a spin in turn four as the field worked lap thirty-one. The restart would see McIntosh pull away a bit from Overton, while Buckingham would challenge Hickman for third and take the final podium spot on lap thirty-two. As the leader saw the white flag, fifth-place Clanton would challenge Hickman for the fourth and would get the spot headed into turn three, but McIntosh would see the checkered flag first, with Overton finishing second, and Buckingham third, while Clanton and Hickman completed the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Craig Vosbergen, Casey Roberts, Jake Knowles, Glenn Morris, and Ricky Williams.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Friday July 21 at Swainsboro Raceway in Swainsboro, GA, paying $5,300 to win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at Senoia Raceway in Senoia, GA on July 20, 2017
1. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
4. Shane Clanton-Zebulon, Ga.
5. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.
6. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
7. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
8. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
9. Glenn Morris-Fayetteville, Ga.
10. Ricky Williams-Fayetteville, Ga.
11. Austin Horton-Whitesburg, Ga.
12. Dalton Cook-Columbus, Ga.
13. Tyler Millwood-Kingston, Ga.
14. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
15. David Doherty-Sidney, Australia
16. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
17. Farrel Skelton-Mount Pleasant, Tenn.
18. Steve Casebolt-Richmond, Ind.
19. Jason Hiett-Oxford, Ala.
20. Michael Page-Douglasville, Ga.
21. Ryan Crane-Panama City, Fla.
22. Trey Wood-Newnan, Ga.

Time of Race: 14 minutes 5 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.503 seconds
Yellow Flags: 1 (lap 31)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Donald McIntosh (1-30)
Entries: 37
Overall Top Qualifier: Donald McIntosh (Group A) 15.839 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Austin Horton
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Farrel Sketon, David Doherty

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Shanon Buckingham, Michael Page, Jason Hiett, Austin Horton, Jason Croft, Shane Tankersley, Craig Scott, Corey Payton, Landon Bagby

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Casey Roberts, Ricky Williams, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Tyler Millwood, Clint Smith, Matt Dooley, Travis Pennington, David Doherty

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Craig Vosbergen, Glenn Morris, Jake Knowles, Ryan Crane, Zach Leonhardi, Dalton Polston, Farrel Skelton, Aubrey Merritt

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Steve Casebolt, Austin Cook, Kenny Collins, Trey Wood, Jason Fitzgerald, Chris Fennell, Blake Spencer (DNS-Jason Walker)

Current Schaeffer Oil Southern Nationals Series Points (after Senoia Raceway)
1. Brandon Overton-780
2. Donald McIntosh-772
3. Shanon Buckingham-764
4. Steve Casebolt-730
4. Craig Vosbergen-730
6. Kenny Collins-718
7. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-696
8. Farrel Skelton-678
9. Jake Knowles-566
10. Jason Walker-557

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!