Follow Us on Twitter! Spring Nationals Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Casey Roberts Rolls to Schaeffer’s Southern Nationals Series Rebel Yell Win at Screven Motor Speedway

(July 22, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV would reach its midpoint at the 18th Annual Rebel Yell on Saturday evening at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, GA and Casey Roberts of Toccoa, GA would put his name in the record books to claim his second Rebel Yell win and collect $10,000 in the process. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

The victory by Roberts would make him the fourth different winner with the tour in 2017 and would see Roberts take the checkered flag first in the Cushman Paint and Body/M and S Concrete/Schaeffer Oil sponsored #101 Longhorn Chassis, Clements Race Engines powered entry.

Brandon Overton would become the leader of the event as the field received the green flag, while Mark Whitener and Dennis Franklin would give chase.  Casey Roberts would make his presence known immediately as he would drive past Zack Mitchell for the fourth position on lap three.  Overton would set a rapid pace up front as he worked the high-side of the racing surface, but Roberts slowly continued his march forward from his sixth starting position as he would snag the third position from Franklin on lap seven.  Overton would begin the process of working slower traffic on lap nine and would have his lead stretched to almost a complete straightaway over Whitener, who would be challenged for the second position by Roberts beginning on lap sixteen and Roberts would eventually find himself riding in the runner-up slot by lap nineteen.  As Overton continued his assault up front, Shanon Buckingham quietly came on the scene as he would grab the fourth position from Mitchell on lap twenty-three and set his sights on Whitener in third, while Michael Brown would take fifth from Mitchell on lap twenty-seven.

Overton would begin to get into heavy lapped traffic by lap thirty-three and this would allow Roberts to begin to close the gap between himself and the race leader.  However, the bad luck bug would bite Overton as the field worked lap forty as Overton would run over some debris and slice a gap in the right-rear tire of his machine and slow on the track entering turn one to draw the first caution of the event.  Roberts would now assume the lead of the event and would bring the field to green to restart the race only to have that voided as Brian Ligon would make contact with the turn one retaining wall and slow the action again.  Back underway, Roberts would hold the top spot, while Buckingham would grab the second position and begin to pressure Roberts for the lead as the pair would battle side-by-side for the spot on lap forty-four.  But it would be Roberts night as he would pull away from Buckingham in the final four circuits and take the victory.  Buckingham, who started ninth, would settle for second, while Mark Whitener claimed the third position.  Dennis Franklin and Ross Bailes would complete the top five finishers.  The remainder of the top ten would be Brown, Overton (after changing the flat right-rear tire and restarting thirteenth as the rear of the lead lap cars), Donald McIntosh, Mitchell, and Pearson Williams.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Sunday July 23 at Rome Speedway in Rome, GA, paying $5,300 to win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, GA on July 22, 2017
1.    Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
2.    Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
3.    Mark Whitener-Middleburg, Flor.
4.    Dennis Franklin-Gaffney, SC
5.    Ross Bailes-Clover, SC
6.    Michael Brown-Pageland, SC
7.    Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
8.    Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
9.    Zack Mitchell-Enoree, SC
10.     Pearson Williams-Dublin, Ga.
11.     Donald Bradsher-Burlington, NC
12.     Scott Shirey-Swansea, SC
13.     Brian Conner-Martinez, Ga.
14.     Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-Ocala, Flor.
15.     John Henderson-North Augusta, SC
16.     Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
17.     Ryan Crane-Panama City, Flor.
18.     Craig Vosbergen-Perth, Western Australia
19.     Brandon Carpenter-Augusta, Ga.
20.     Brian Ligon-Augusta, Ga.
21.     Brian Reese-Sharpsburg, Ga.
22.     Steve Casebolt-Richmond, Ind.

Time of Race:  25 minutes, 23 seconds
Margin of Victory:  1.098 seconds
Yellow Flags:  2 (lap 40, lap 40 restart)
Red Flags:  None
Lap Leaders:  Brandon Overton (1-39), Casey Roberts (40-51)
Entries:  26
Overall Top Qualifier:  Brandon Overton (Group B) 14.356 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award:  Donald Bradsher
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200):  None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200):  None
Provisional Starters:  None

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)-  Mark Whitener, Donald Bradsher, Shanon Buckingham, Ivedent Lloyd, Jr., Brandon Carpenter, John Henderson, Ryan Crane

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Dennis Franklin, Brian Conner, Scott Shirey, Brent Dixon, Craig Vosbergen, Josh Langley

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Overton, Casey Roberts, Ross Bailes. Pearson Williams, Brian Ligon, Jim Rogers, Farrel Skelton

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Zack Mitchell, Michael Brown, Donald McIntosh, Steve Casebolt, Brian Reece, Jason Walker

B-Main (10 laps/top 6 transfer)- Brian Ligon, Craig Vosbergen, John Henderson, Brandon Carpenter, Ryan Crane, Brian Reese, Farrel Skelton, Jim Rogers, Jason Walker (DNS-Josh Langley)

Current Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series Points (after Screven Motor Speedway)
1. Donald McIntosh-1,156
1. Shanon Buckingham-1,156
3. Brandon Overton-1,154
4. Steve Casebolt-1,052
4. Craig Vosbergen-1,052
6. Ivedent Lloyd, Jr.-1,024
7. Kenny Collins-878
8. Farrel Skelton-828
9. Casey Roberts-768
10. Jason Walker-707

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!