Follow Us on Twitter! Spring Nationals Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Austin Horton Captures First Southern Nationals Payday in Wild Race at Rome Speedway

(July 22, 2018) Austin Horton of Newnan, Ga. took the lead away from Aaron Ridley on lap 47 to go on to win his first-career Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV victory and became the 37th different winner with the tour. Horton also became the fourth different winner in six races so far on tour. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Horton picked up $5,300 while driving the Orr’s Towing, Wood Motorsports, GW Performance and Keyser Manufacturing-sponsored Vic Hill Racing Engines-powered Rocket Chassis.

Aaron Ridley would jump out to the race lead early and hold the point for the first 22 laps until Michael Page, who started sixth would make his presence known and take the lead on the outside in turn four coming to complete lap 23. Page would lead until lap 46 when he got caught up in a pile of cars in turn two and would have to relinquish the race lead over to Aaron Ridley. Ridley would lead on the restart but third place starter Austin Horton would go around Ridley for the top spot on the 47th lap and lead the remaining distance with Ridley finishing second, Ivedent Lloyd third, Casey Roberts fourth and Michael Page rallying from the tail of the lead lap to finish fifth.

Four caution flags slowed the event at Rome Speedway. On lap six, Zach Leonhardi and David Doherty got together on the front-chute to bring out the first caution of the 53-lapper with Leonhardi spinning. On lap seven, Tyler Millwood would come to a stop in turn two for the second yellow. On lap 46, a five-car pileup including race leader Michael Page in turn two would send Page to the rear of the lead lap cars for the restart. Shanon Buckingham, Forrest Trent, Brandon Overton and Donald McIntosh would all be involved. On lap 51, series points leader Dale McDowell would spin in turn four after contact with Michael Page to bring out the fourth and final caution.

After four straight nights of racing, the Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV will take Monday off before returning to action on Tuesday Night July 24th at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Ga. paying $3,500-to-win for Round Seven of the tour. After six races, eleven drivers have perfect attendance with Casey Roberts leading the series point standings over Dale McDowell and Brandon Overton who are tied for second, both drivers are just 16 points out of the lead.

Official Summary of Results
Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Series
Round 6-Rome Speedway-Rome, GA

Feature Finish:
1. Austin Horton-Newnan, Ga.
2. Aaron Ridley-Chatsworth, Ga.
3. Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-Ocala, Fla.
4. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
5. Michael Page-Douglasville, Ga.
6. Clint Smith-Senoia, Ga.
7. Joey Coulter-Concord, N.C.
8. Craig Vosbergen-Perth, W. Australia
9. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
10. Tyler Millwood-Kingston, Ga.
11. Austin Smith-Rome, Ga.
12. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
13. J.T. Seawright-Fort Payne, Ala.
14. Cla Knight-North Augusta, S.C.
15. David Doherty-Sydney, Australia
16. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
17. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
18. Forrest Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
19. Frank Ingram-Woodstock, Ga.
20. T.J. Reaid-Acworth, Ga.
21. Zach Leonhardi-Cartersville, Ga.
22. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.

Entries: 29
Overall Fast Qualifier: Ivedent Lloyd Jr.-13.457 seconds
Time of Race: 39 minutes, 15 seconds
Lap Leaders: Ridley (1-22), Page (23-46), Horton (47-53)
Cautions: Four (laps 6, 7, 46, 51)
Red Flags: None
Provisionals: Craig Vosbergen, David Doherty

Heat-1 Finish: Donald McIntosh, Clint Smith, Brandon Overton, Cla Knight, Zach Leonhardi, Craig Vosbergen, David Doherty, Clay Harris, Adam Ruff, Craig Greer.

Heat-2 Finish: Frank Ingram, Tyler Millwood, Robby Moses, Austin Smith, J.T. Seawright, Gary McPherson, Casey Turman, Jake Knowles, Johnny Cloer (Did Not Start).

Current Series Points (after six races):
1. Casey Roberts-1,140
2. Dale McDowell-1,124
2. Brandon Overton-1,124
4. Aaron Ridley-1,094
5. Donald McIntosh-1,086
6. Joey Coulter-1,062
7. Forrest Trent-1,054
8. Shanon Buckingham-1,046
9. Robby Moses-1,034
10. Cla Knight-1,032
11. Craig Vosbergen-947

Current Rookie of the Year Points:
1. Forrest Trent-1,054
2. Cla Knight-1,032

Series Winners:
Dale McDowell-Wythe Raceway July 14
Cory Hedgecock-411 Motor Speedway July 17
Brandon Overton-Toccoa Raceway July 19
Brandon Overton-Swainsboro Raceway July 20
Brandon Overton-Swainsboro Raceway July 21
Austin Horton-Rome Speedway July 22

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!