Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Brandon Overton Dominates Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals Stop at Ponderosa Speedway

(April 14, 2017) Brandon Overton led flag-to-flag in a caution free event Friday Night at Ponderosa Speedway during the 5th Annual Spring Showdown sanctioned by the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals Series presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee R.V. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Brandon Overton and Jason Jameson would battle for the race lead on the opening lap of the $4,000 to win contest, with Overton finally gaining control of the top spot for good on lap 2. Ricky Weiss would charge past Jameson for the runner-up slot on lap 4, with Kent Robinson working past Michael Chilton for the fourth position one circuit later. Overton would pull away just a bit, as Jameson closed back in on Weiss for the second position and would claim the position on lap 9. Jameson would set his sights on the Overton as the lead pair would start working slower traffic on lap 14.

Meanwhile, eighth place starting Mike Marlar would begin to charge his way toward the top five runners and would make his way into fifth on lap 20. Overton would work slower traffic masterfully at this point in the contest and would maintain a two to three car length lead over Jameson. Marlar would continue his charge taking fourth from Robinson on lap 23 and working past Weiss for third on lap 26.

However, it would be Overton’s night as the Georgia native would increase his lead to almost a full straightaway advantage over Jameson in the final ten laps of the event to see the checkered flag first in the caution-free event in the Crossfit Overton/A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services/Mission Transport/Longhorn by Weaver sponsored #116 Longhorn by Weaver, Andy Durham Race Engines powered entry. Jameson would finish second, with Marlar’s charge ending with the final podium position in third. Ricky Weiss and Kent Robinson would complete the top five.

The remainder of the top ten would be Cody Mahoney, Michael Chilton, Donald McIntosh, Tim Dohm, and Shanon Buckingham. Twenty-seven entries would see Overton at top qualifier at 13.409 seconds, with heat wins going to Robinson, Brandon Kinzer, McIntosh, and Mike Marlar. Series provisional starters were Robby Moses and Jason Croft.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals by Sunoco and Tennessee RV will return to action tonight at Florence Speedway for a $5,000-to-win event then on April 21st at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, Tenn. paying $4,000-to-win and Saturday April 22nd for the Scott Sexton Memorial at Volunteer Speedway in Bulls Gap, Tenn. paying $10,052-to-win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “Spring Showdown” at Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky. on April 14, 2017:

1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Jameson Jameson-Lawrenceburg, Ind.
3. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
4. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
5. Kent Robinson-Bloomington, Ind.
6. Cody Mahoney-Hanover, Ind.
7. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
8. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
9. Tim Dohm-Cross Lanes, W.V.
10. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
11. Eddie Carrier Jr.-Salt Rock, W.V.
12. Eric Wells-Hazard, Ky.
13. Brandon Kinzer-Lexington, Ky.
14. Chad Stapleton-Edinburgh, Ind.
15. Tripp Gerrald-Nicholasville, Ky.
16. Connor Meade-Clay City, Ky.
17. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
18. David Doherty-Sydney, Australia
19. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
20. Jeremy Hines-Seymour, Ind.
21. Chris Combs-Isom, Ky.
22. Skylar Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.

Time of Race: 9 Minutes, 57 Seconds
Margin of Victory: 04.521 seconds
Yellow Flags: None
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Overton (1-40)
Entries: 27
Overall Fast Time: Brandon Overton (Group B) 13.409 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Eddie Carrier Jr.
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Robby Moses, Jason Croft.

Heat-One Finish: Kent Robinson, Chris Combs, Chad Stapleton, Tripp Gerrald, Stephen Breeding, Daniel Dial.

Heat-Two Finish: Brandon Kinzer, Tim Dohm, Connor Meade, Eric Wells, Robby Moses, Larry Greer.

Heat-Three Finish: Donald McIntosh, Cody Mahoney, Shanon Buckingham, Skylar Marlar, Adam Bowman, Jason Croft.

Heat-Four Finish: Mike Marlar, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jeremy Hines, David Doherty, Billy Ogle Jr.

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!