Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Ricky Weiss Wins as Overton Breaks in Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals at Crossville Speedway

(May 19, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuels and Tennessee RV would visit Crossville Speedway on Friday evening and Ricky Weiss of Headingly, Manitoba, Canada would take advantage of race leader Brandon Overton’s misfortune on the final lap to claim the $4,000 payday. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

The win by Weiss would be his first career Spring Nationals series victory and would come in the AEI Construction/Orthopedic Institute of Western Kentucky/Turk Enterprises/Derrick’s Sandblasting/Land-Air Transport sponsored #7 Longhorn Chassis sporting a Vic Hill Race Engine.

The initial start of the 40 lap, $4,000 to win contest would see a do-over as third place starter Pierce McCarter would spin his machine in turn four before the opening lap was completed. Once racing got underway, Brandon Overton would jump out to the race lead, with Donald McIntosh, Shanon Buckingham, Ricky Weiss, and Forrest Trent in pursuit. Overton would start working slower traffic on lap six and disaster would strike runner-up McIntosh as he would tangle with a slower car in turn on the same circuit, with both cars spinning out. The restart would see Overton maintain the lead, with Weiss now second after getting by Buckingham prior to the caution, with Trent and Jason Croft fourth and fifth. As Overton again started working traffic on lap ten, he would only have to contest traffic for a pair of circuits until Richard Frost slowed at the top of turn four to draw the caution flag. When racing resumed, Overton resumed his rapid pace at the point, while Weiss would hang with the leader for a few circuits until Overton started working traffic again on lap seventeen, but Overton would again receive clear track as another appeared on lap eighteen when Cory Hedgecock would stop in turn two.

As the event went past the midpoint marker, Overton would again work through traffic, with Weiss and Buckingham giving chase, while Trent, David Payne, and Michael Chilton would have an entertaining battle for the fourth position. Caution would again slow Overton’s pace on lap twenty-six when Robby Moses would spin exiting turn two and would be contacted by Pierce McCarter, ending both participants evening. The attempted restart would see one more circuit completed before McIntosh, who had worked his way from the rear of the field back to seventh position, spin in turn four. The event would again be slowed on the restart when Skylar Marlar would spin in turn four and be contacted by another car and his night would be finished. The final laps would go green and Overton appeared to have the event well in-hand, but his mount started experiencing issues as the field saw the two lap to go signal. Overton’s entry would again stumble exiting turn four coming to the white flag, allowing Weiss to close the gap on the leader. As Overton exited turn four to the checkered flag, his mount would shut off and Weiss would motor past Overton to claim a half-car length victory at the checkered flag. Buckingham would finish third, while Payne and Chilton would work past Trent in the final laps to complete the top five. Trent would head up the sixth through tenth place finishers, followed by Croft, Steve Smith, McIntosh, and Billy Ogle, Jr.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV conclude its 2017 campaign over Memorial Day weekend, starting at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA on Friday May 26 ($4,000 to win), Saturday May 27 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA ($5,000 to win), and will crown its 2017 champion on Sunday May 28 at Rome Speedway in Rome, GA ($6,000 to win).

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals at Crossville Speedway in Crossville, TN on May 19, 2017

1. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
4. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
5. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
6. Forrent Trent-Talbott, Tenn.
7. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
8. Steve Smith-Powell, Tenn.
9. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
10. Billy Ogle, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
11. Kenny Cobble-Cookeville, Tenn.
12. Jeff Neubert-Rockford, Tenn.
13. Carder Miller-Salem, Va.
14. Skylar Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
15. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
16. Pierce McCarter-Gatlinburg, Tenn.
17. Cory Hedgecock-Loudon, Tenn.
18. Richard Frost-Clarksville, Tenn.
19. Casey Turman-Lafayette, Ga.
20. Ronnie Choate-Cookeville, Tenn.
21. Tim Damron-Oneida, Tenn.
22. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.

Time of Race: 28 minutes, 39 seconds
Margin of Victory: N/A
Yellow Flags: Seven (Lap 0, 6, 12, 18, 26, 27, 27 restart)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Overton (1-39), Weiss (40)
Entries: 23
Martel Sign Company Fast Time Mark Overall Fast Time Award ($100): Donald McIntosh (Group A) 12.132 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Kenny Cobble
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Ronnie Choate
Provisional Starters: None

B-Main Finish: Billy Ogle, Jr., Kenny Cobble, Casey Turman, Jeff Neubert, Ronnie Choate (DNS- Tim Damron, Chicky Barton)

Current Series Points (after May 19)
1. Brandon Overton-1,138
2. Donald McIntosh-1,132
3. Michael Chilton-1,120
4. Shanon Buckingham-1,078
5. Ricky Weiss-1,072
6. Robby Moses-901
7. Jason Croft-842
8. Mike Marlar-780
9. Dale McDowell-584
10. Eric Wells-552

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services


* All Photos Below Courtesy of MRM Racing Photos



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!