Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Brandon Overton Charges From Seventh to Bag Spring Nationals Stop at Boyd’s Speedway

(May 26, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV kicked off its 2017 championship weekend at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA on Friday evening and Brandon Overton would take the lead on lap twenty-two and drive off into the night to claim the $4,000 payday and his third Spring Nationals Series victory of the season. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Overton’s third series victory of the season would come in the familiar Randy Weaver owned Crossfit Overton/A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services/Mission Transport/Stone Land Clearing and Excavating sponsored #116 Longhorn by Weaver, Andy Durham Race Engines powered entry.

Shanon Buckingham would take the lead at the start of the forty lap main event, with Vic Hill, Donald McIntosh, and Brandon Kinzer in hot pursuit. As Buckingham would work the high-side of the race track, McIntosh would do his work around the bottom of the track and would claim the third spot by lap four. Buckingham would open a comfortable advantage and would begin to work slower traffic on lap ten, but a caution for a spin by Riley Hickman one lap later would give Buckingham clear track in front of him. The restart would see McIntosh work past Hill for second and set his sights on Buckingham, while Overton would begin his charge to the front and worked past Hill for third on lap fourteen. As Buckingham and McIntosh would battle for the lead, Overton would work the bottom of the track and reel in the lead duo as the halfway signal was displayed.

Overton would work past McIntosh for second on lap twenty-one and one circuit later, Overton would take the race lead away from Buckingham. McIntosh would challenge Buckingham for second and would claim that spot on lap twenty-five, while Michael Page would make his way into the top five around this same time. Page would take fourth and then claim third from Buckingham on lap thirty-one. However, the night would be Overton’s to enjoy the spoils of victory as he would finish 5.601 seconds ahead of runner-up McIntosh, while Page would slow with mechanical issues on the final lap, allowing Buckingham to finish in third position. Ricky Weiss and David Payne would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten finishers would be John Ownbey, Vic Hill, Jason Croft, Page, and Brandon Kinzer.

The Schaeffer’s Oil Southern Nationals Bonus Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV next event will be Saturday May 27 at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA, paying $5,000 to win.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals at Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, GA on May 26, 2017
1. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
2. Donald McIntosh- Dawsonville, Ga.
3. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
4. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
5. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
6. John Ownbey-Cleveland, Tenn.
7. Vic Hill-Mosheim, Tenn.
8. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
9. Michael Page-Douglasville, Ga.
10. Brandon Kinzer-Lexington, Ky.
11. Will Roland-Jasper, Ga.
12. Ryan King-Knoxville, Tenn.
13. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
14. Heath Hindman-Signal Mountain, Tenn.
15. Dusty Carver-Englewood, Tenn.
16. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
17. J.T. Seawright-Fort Payne, Ala.
18. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
19. Austin Horton-Whitesburg, Ga.
20. Billy Ogle, Jr.-Knoxville, Tenn.
21. Riley Hickman-Ooltewah, Tenn.
22. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.

Time of Race: 14 minutes, 43 seconds
Margin of Victory: 5.601 seconds
Yellow Flags: 1 (lap 11)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Buckingham (1-21), Overton (22-40)
Entries: 37
Overall Top Qualifier: Shanon Buckingham (Group A) 14.921 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Will Roland
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): John Ownbey
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): Heath Hindman
Provisional Starters: Michael Chilton, Billy Ogle, Jr.

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Donald McIntosh, Michael Page, Robby Moses, Kenny Collins, Casey Turman, Austin Kirkpatrick, Billy Ogle, Jr., Craig Greer (DNS-Tyler Millwood)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Brandon Overton, Heath Hindman, Austin Horton, J.T. Seawright, Stacy Boles, Michael Chilton, Brad Skinner, Gary McPherson

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- John Ownbey, David Payne, Dusty Carver, Jake Knowles, Ethan Hunter, Trey Wood, Steven Roberts, Austin Arnold

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Ricky Weiss, Riley Hickman, Will Roland, Ryan King, Ivedent Lloyd, Derek Ellis, Jamie Oliver, Jeff Neubert

Current Spring Nationals Series Points (after May 26)
1. Brandon Overton-1,338
2. Donald McIntosh-1,328
3. Michael Chilton-1,284
4. Shanon Buckingham-1,272
5. Ricky Weiss-1,264
6. Robby Moses-1,069
7. Jason Croft-1,026
8. Mike Marlar-780
9. Michael Page-726
10. David Payne-706

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!