Follow Us on Twitter! Southern Nationals Series Southern Nationals Series Bonus Races
Learn More About Schaeffer Oil!

Dale McDowell Dandy in Schaeffer’s Spring Nationals Action at Dixie Speedway

(May 27, 2017) The Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV would visit Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA for the second-race of the three event 2017 championship weekend and Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA would lead all 50 laps in route to the $5,000 payday at the historic Swims-family promoted racing facility. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

McDowell’s victory would make him the sixth different winner in eight Spring Nationals Series events and the win would come aboard the Shane McDowell Racing owned Textron Off Road/Will Kinzer Foundation for Autism Research/Kinzer Drilling Company/Quality Natural Gas/New Era Recyling Solutions/Cometic Gaskets/Klotz Lubricants sponsored #17m Sweet-Bloomquist Race Car powered by a Clements Race Engine.

The initial start of the event would see the caution flag fly before all competitors completed the opening lap of the event as Skip Arp would slow with mechanical issues in turn four. Once again got underway, Dale McDowell would take the race lead, with Donald McIntosh and Casey Roberts giving chase. Roberts would work past McIntosh for the runner-up slot on lap three as McDowell set a torrid pace out front. As race leader McDowell started working slower traffic on lap ten, McIntosh would challenge Roberts for the second position while tenth place starting Brandon Overton would move into the top five on the same circuit, but Roberts night would come to an end when he would draw the next caution of the contest with a flat right-rear tire on lap thirteen. The restart would see McDowell lead McIntosh, Jason Croft, and now fourth place Overton, with Austin Horton taking fifth place on lap fourteen, while Overton would claim the third position from Croft on the same lap. A three-car tangle involving Kenny Collins, Austin Kirkpatrick, and Robby Moses in turn two would draw the caution flag on lap sixteen. The restart would see the final caution of the event wave when Jamie Oliver would loop his mount in turn two. The restart would see McDowell again motor away from the pack, while Overton would drive past McIntosh for the second position.

As the event neared the halfway point of the fifty-lap contest, McDowell would start the process working lapped traffic again, allowing Overton to close the gap on McDowell for the lead. McDowell would work lapped traffic to perfection during this point in the event, while Overton continued to give chase. Meanwhile, thirteenth place starter Michael Page would make his way into the top five, taking the spot away from Austin Horton. McDowell and Overton would continue to work slower traffic and McDowell had lapped up to the ninth place running of David Payne by lap forty-two. McDowell would see his lead shrink as the field saw the five lap to go signal in lapped traffic, while Page would continue his charge as he would claim the fourth position from Croft on the same lap. McDowell would drive on to see the checkered flag first, while Overton would settle for second, with McIntosh finishing a distant third. Page and Croft would complete the top five finishers. The remainder of the top ten at the completion of the event would be Horton, Derek Ellis, Shanon Buckingham, Payne, and seventeenth place starting Ricky Weiss.

The next event for the Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals presented by Sunoco Race Fuel and Tennessee RV will be Sunday May 28 at Rome Speedway in Rome, GA, paying $6,000 to win and will also see the 2017 Spring Nationals champion crowned.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals, and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or by visiting the official website located at

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results for Schaeffer’s Oil Spring Nationals at Dixie Speedway in Woodstock, GA on May 27, 2017
1. Dale McDowell-Chickamauga, Ga.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
4. Michael Page-Douglasville, Ga.
5. Jason Croft-Woodstock, Ga.
6. Austin Horton-Whitesburg, Ga.
7. Derek Ellis-Chatsworth, Ga.
8. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
9. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
10. Ricky Weiss-Headingly, Manitoba, Canada
11. Gary McPherson-Dalton, Ga.
12. Jake Knowles-Rome, Ga.
13. Brent Dixon-Elberton, Ga.
14. Justin Shipley-Douglasville, Ga.
15. Ivedent Lloyd-Ocala, Fla.
16. Michael Chilton-Salvisa, Ky.
17. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
18. Austin Kirkpatrick-Ocala, Fla.
19. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
20. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
21. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
22. Skip Arp-Georgetown, Tenn.

Time of Race: 23 minutes, 34 seconds
Margin of Victory: 0.526 seconds
Yellow Flags: 4 (lap 1, 13, 16, 16 restart)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Dale McDowell (1-50)
Entries: 41
Overall Top Qualifier: Dale McDowell (Group B) 14.147 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Gary McPherson
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): None
Highest Finishing Steel/SPEC Engine ($200): None
Provisional Starters: Michael Chilton, Kenny Collins

Heat One Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Jason Croft, Shanon Buckingham, Michael Page, Ricky Weiss, Mike McConnell, Dale Thurman, Eric Grainger, Levi Hicks (DNS-Will Roland, Trey Wood)

Heat Two Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Derek Ellis, Skip Arp, Austin Kirkpatrick, Jamie Oliver, Steven Roberts, Kenny Collins, Michael Chilton, Mark Page (DNS-Jeremy Ledford)

Heat Three Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Justin Shipley, Brandon Overton, Gary McPherson, David Payne, Brad Skinner, Levi Ashby, James Roulette, Bo Eaton, Frank Ingram

Heat Four Finish (10 laps/top 4 transfer)- Austin Horton, Ivedent Lloyd, Jake Knowles, Robby Moses, Rodney Martin, Johnny Chastain, Heath Hindman, Buster Goss (DNS-Shawn Chastain)

Current Series Points (after May 27th)
1. Brandon Overton-1,534
2. Donald McIntosh-1,522
3. Shanon Buckingham-1,456
4. Michael Chilton-1,452
5. Ricky Weiss-1,444
6. Robby Moses-1,235
7. Jason Croft-1,216
8. Michael Page-918
9. David Payne-888
10. Dale McDowell-784

* All Photos Below Courtesy of McLeod Media Services



[ home | schedule | results | points | sponsors | history | tracks | purse | rules | contact ]

Home Schedule Results Points Sponsors History Tracks Purse Rules Contact Delph Communications Website!